Wrestlingworth Church of England VC Lower School and Dunton Church of England VC Lower School 'Believing and Achieving Together'
Wrestlingworth Church of England VC Lower School                                      and        Dunton Church of England VC Lower School                'Believing and Achieving Together'

Our Curriculum

Dunton and Wrestlingworth Schools operate within the National Curriculum Framework laid down by Central Government. We address much of our English and Maths teaching through the daily Literacy and Numeracy lessons. We aim to provide as broad and balanced a curriculum as possible by planning to incorporate Science and the foundation subjects of the National Curriculum in blocked units of work. Some subjects will be taught on a weekly basis – these include: P.E., Music, I.C.T., R.E. and P.S.H.C.E. The remaining subjects of Science, History, Geography, Art and Design Technology are planned in blocked units.

  • Reception: 4 to 5 year old children
  • KS1: 5 to 7 year olds
  • KS2: 7 to 9 year olds

In our  Reception class the children follow the statutory Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum.  This is the same curriculum that is taught in pre-schools and nurseries and the reception year in school is the final year. The curriculum is divided into prime and specific areas of learning.  The prime areas are Communication and Language, Personal, Social and Emotional development and Physical development.  The child's competence in these areas is vital to moving onto the specific areas of Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding of the World and Expressive Arts and Design. Daily activities are planned to meet children's individual needs in these areas.  At the  end of the reception year children are assessed by their teacher against the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile and the results reported to parents.

During Key Stage 1 pupils work through the programmes of study in ten National Curriculum subjects. They are taught knowledge and skills which are assessed by the teacher and formally assessed at the end of Year 2 when children are 6 or 7 years old. The results of these SATs (Standard Assessment Tests) are reported to parents/carers in the annual report to parents/carers along with your child’s end of year report. Year 1 pupils are formally assessed in the new DfE phonics tests and the results are shared with parents/carers.

Children enter Key Stage 2 at 7 years old when they are in Year 3. The curriculum continues to be delivered in a variety of ways. Some subjects are taught discretely e.g. Maths, English and Science, as these subjects form the core of your child’s learning. Other subjects may be taught through units of focused work, topics or themes. Teachers organise this work in meaningful, relevant and enjoyable ways through whole class lessons, group work and individual work. We have a whole school rolling programme of topics covered to avoid children repeating units of work.

Throughout the schools pupils are ability grouped within their class to focus the teaching and learning more closely to the needs of each group. The groups are arranged on the basis of Standard Assessment Test results, and teacher’s continuous assessments. This is a continuous process and pupils move between groups according to their progress and needs. Year 4 are tested in Reading, Writing and Maths using optional tests. 

Print Print | Sitemap
© Dunton and Wrestlingworth Church of England VC Lower Schools